Who needs ETIAS for France?

ETIAS is the new electronic travel authorization system for Europe that will require eligible visitors to France and other Schengen states to pre-register before entering the country. According to the EU, from the end of 2022, eligible tourists will need ETIAS to travel to France to visit the country and take in its rich historical and gastronomic heritage. The ETIAS France can be obtained by completing a simple online application form and will save travelers from visiting an embassy or consulate for a French visa. Read on to find out who needs ETIAS permit for France.

Nationalities that need to request an ETIAS authorization

There are currently 60 nationalities who are visa exempt to visit France and the Schengen Area for short-term stays. These are:

However, when the ETIAS visa waiver France is implemented in late 2022, citizens of these very countries will need to complete the ETIAS France application form before traveling to Europe. The France ETIAS will be required for all eligible citizens coming to the Schengen Area for tourism, transit or business for a maximum stay of 90 days within a 180-day period.

etias needed world map

Who will need the ETIAS visa waiver to travel to France?

Those who meet the French ETIAS requirements and are traveling to France for a period of fewer than 90 days for tourism or business purposes will need to apply for the France ETIAS. The simple online ETIAS visa waiver for France application will only take minutes to complete.

The ETIAS France requirements involve:

A passport from a France ETIAS eligible country valid for at least 3 months from the date of entry to the Schengen Area

A debit or credit card to pay the ETIAS for France fee

A current email address to which the ETIAS for France will be sent.

EU or Schengen citizens with dual nationality will be required to use their EU or Schengen passport to enter the Schengen Area. Some countries may also require proof the traveler has sufficient fundsfor the duration of their stay. Additional documentation may also be requested in some cases

France ETIAS-eligible citizens who wish to work, study or live in France or another Schengen country for more than 90 days must apply for a different type of visa for France

Why do I need ETIAS authorization?

The ETIAS proposal was finalized in 2016 and is expected to be put into effect by 2022. The ETIAS for France is being implemented in order to strengthen border security in the Schengen Area following a rise of terrorist and other safety threats in Europe.

France is one of the many EU countries to have been greatly affected by terrorism in recent years. Events like the 2015 Bataclan Theatre attack which took 89 lives or the 2016 Nice Bastille Day attack in which 86 were killed have shown that additional security and information sharing measures are necessary within Europe. To this end, the ETIAS France will improve security by requiring pre-registration of travelers coming to Europe, allowing any security threats to be identified before arrival in a Schengen country.

Applicants for the ETIAS permit for France will be required to fill out a simple online form with personal information, passport data, and travel details, as well as answer a series of security questions. Each application will then be checked against a variety of information databases for security risks, including Interpol, EURODAC and the ETIAS watchlist.

In most cases, the application will be approved automatically and the France electronic authorization sent to the email provided. The applicant will then be able to print the ETIAS permit for France to present alongside the corresponding passport upon arrival at border control. Remember to first check who needs ETIAS program France before applying.

Who won’t need ETIAS to travel to France

As it is included in the Schengen Area, citizens of Schengen member states do not need ETIAS to travel to France. The 26 Schengen countries are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Vatican City

While Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein are not part of the EU, they are Schengen member countries and so also do not need the ETIAS system France for short stays.